Part 4 – Reflection on Tutor Feedback

In his feedback on my submission for Part 4 of this course, my tutor has been supportive and broadly positive of my outcomes and but has identified the underlying issue that my focus is often on the ‘technical challenges faced’ and that I do not ‘make this personal and …. that this is where any connection with the piece of work breaks down’.

I do find technical challenges interesting, which is not surprising given my background in maths and physics, but I do accept that I have concentrated on process to the detriment of content. The personal connection in works has also not adequately been expressed; it is always easier to discuss ‘how’ rather than ‘why’ and I must overcome my own reticence. I find writing very difficult, having given up essay subjects at GCSE and only written technical reports since. This, for me, is a huge hurdle which I must leap if I am going to be an artist rooted in understanding and not just a maker of things.

Many fellow students choose not to make their learning logs public because they do not want to bare their souls to everyone. I wish to keep my blog public because I receive useful feedback from fellow students across several disciplines and interested artists outside the college. I have to be more frank, open and self aware about the why of my work. This has to be the major challenge of the final part of the course and my springboard into level 4 study.

About starrybird

I am mature student studying art with The Open College of the Arts. My passion is printmaking.
This entry was posted in Course Parts, Part 4 Casting In Plaster, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

